Uran wins stage nine as Porte crashes

1 London

London News & Search

1 News - 1 eMovies - 1 eMusic - 1 eBooks - 1 Search

Warren Barguil (left) was pipped on the line by Rigoberto Uran

Britain’s Chris Froome retained the leaders’ yellow jersey as Colombian Rigoberto Uran won an action-packed stage nine of the Tour de France.

Frenchman Warren Barguil was in tears as he celebrated victory but a photo finish saw Uran pip him on the line.

Geraint Thomas, one of Froome’s key helpers, crashed out of the race.

Race contender Richie Porte also crashed – taking out Dan Martin – and was put in a neck brace before being taken away in an ambulance.

BMC Racing team doctor Florence Pommieur later said that Porte did not lose consciousness and the neck brace was fitted as a precaution.

The horrific crash occured at 72km/h as Porte was racing with his fellow general classification contenders down the final descent of a brutally tough stage in the Alps.

The Australian got his line wrong and skidded across the inside of a left-hand bend before bouncing into the path of Martin and bringing down the Irish rider.

While Porte lay on the ground receiving medical attention, Martin remounted and carried on with the descent.

Stage nine result:

1. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Cannondale) 5hrs 07mins 22secs

2. Warren Barguil (Fra/Sunweb) Same Time

3. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky)

4. Romain Bardet (Fra/AG2R)

5. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana)

6. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana)

7. George Bennett (NZ/LottoNL) +1min 15secs

8. Mikel Landa (Spa/Team Sky) Same Time

9. Daniel Martin (Ire/Quick-Step)

10. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar)


11. Simon Yates (GB/Orica)

General classification after stage nine:

1. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 38hrs 26mins 28secs

2. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +18secs

3. Romain Bardet (Fra/AG2R) +51secs

4. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Cannondale) +55secs

5. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana) +1min 37secs

6. Daniel Martin (Ire/Quick-Step) +1min 44secs

7. Simon Yates (GB/Orica) +2mins 02secs

8. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +2mins 13secs

9. Mikel Landa (Spa/Team Sky) +3mins 06secs

10. George Bennett (NZ/LottoNL) +3mins 53secs

More to follow.

1 London

London News & Search

1 News - 1 eMovies - 1 eMusic - 1 eBooks - 1 Search



Leave a Reply